You are the average of your inner circle

The people you surround yourself with influence your future

SOUL
3 min readAug 18, 2023

Join my newsletter to receive weekly inspiration for personal and professional growth ↓↓

Take a look at successful people and who they surround themselves with. It’s very rare that you’ll see a successful CEO hanging out with a guy with no job and no goals and no money. It’s very rare that you’ll see a successful business owner hanging out with a criminal or a any successful person hanging out with someone with no ambitions and purpose in life.

That’s because birds of a feather flock together. In other words people are more attracted to people that have a similar level of achievement, ambitions, goals, income, interests, etc.

“You are a product of your environment. Surround yourself with the best”

If you have a million dollar dream and hang out with broke people, you’ll never achieve that dream. If you want to take your life to the next level you’ll have take your environment to the next level. That includes your relationships, friends, job and maybe town. You’ll notice that I don’t mention family because they are unchangeable. The only thing that you can do if they are standing in your way is to move out.

Romantic and relationships have the same influence as friendships and even worse if they are draining you.

A woman can make you or break you. Behind a lot of successful people is a strong woman who pushes and supports him. You can also notice that most unsuccessful people have behind them low value women, and this is one of the reasons that they can’t achieve their goals.

“No man succeeds without a good woman behind him. Wife or mother, if it both, he is twice blessed indeed” — Godfrey Winn

Social media plays a huge role in this. A lot of men do things just to impress women. Spend money to look rich instead of trying to actually be one. They are trying to build their social media following instead of their bank account balance. If your friends do this, you most probably doing the same thing. You always adapt to your environment unless you did the necessary inner work to master yourself and outgrow it.

Your network is your net worth. You see a lot of times successful people changing their old friends with new ones. That’s not being selfish but it is a necessary step towards success. The old friends usually say that they forgotten them because they’re successful now but the thing is, if you keep hanging out with people who have no goals and ambitions, it’s going to be difficult for you to do big things.

The day I have ditched my old friends, my mind cleared up and I have realized how much damage I was doing to my health and future self by hanging out with those people. I couldn’t see that before because I was a part of that group, but once I detached from it, I could clearly see where I was heading.

“You can destroy your whole life hanging out around people with no goals or ambitions. Choose your friends wisely” — Christopher Ferry

I was always out partying, drinking, smoking and going to work with few to no hours of sleep. That affected my job performance, school performance, family relationship and my mindset when it came to time and money management.

Three years after leaving behind that group of friends, I have been promoted at my job, got 2 master degrees, started an online business, wrote and published a book on Amazon, set big goals, made a really good amount of money by investing in crypto projects, started writing as a freelancer and constantly learning new things.

I wouldn’t even have the time and energy to do all of these things if I kept hanging out with that group of people because I would most probably had other priorities.

It’s better to be alone than surround yourself with people that do not support your vision.

Being alone for a while did wonders to me. People think it’s weird to have no friends but the reality is, it’s weird having friends with no ambitions and expecting to achieve something big.

Join my newsletter to receive weekly inspiration for personal and professional growth ↓↓

--

--